Classification Scheme

Classification Scheme

Lawi Classification Scheme

Introduction to the Lawi Classification Scheme

Libraries (and, specially, University libraries) use industry standard schemes to organise and describe the collections of their libraries. This includes employing classification schemes, which are chosen to suit the materials being organised, and subject heading schemes, which are chosen to best describe the materials in the collections.

The Encyclopedia of Law made a decision to create a classification scheme for the organization of legal information across the Encyclopedia of Law and other Lawi projects.

The Lawi Classification Scheme was developed to organize the legal information in an easy approach for users. Much useful information can be found by browsing through the collection.

The Classification Scheme subject structure may serve as a model for the organization of electronic files. The scheme consists of a non- numbering system that groups the major fields of law and offers subject subdivisions tailored to the field of legal information. A broad range within each subject division allows for the creation of future ranges.

The classification scheme groups similar topics under their major subject divisions. This is done so that, whenever possible, users will have immediate access to a range of information relevant to their topic. Therefore, the classification scheme is not in exclusive organized alphabetically.

Classification Schemes in Libraries

A classification scheme is utilised in a library to decide the shelf order of the physical materials, regardless of format (e.g books, journals, DVDs, etc). The scheme provides an ‘address’ for each item (known as a call number). The Libraries catalogues will provide a call number for each physical item in the collection, as well as telling which collection and which library the item is housed in.

Electronic Resources do not have a ‘call number’ or ‘collection’ as they have no physical location and ‘belong’ to all libraries.

Popular Classification Schemes are:

Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) scheme. This scheme divides the entire world of knowledge into ten main classes according to disciplines or fields of study. Each of these main classes is further divided into ten divisions, and each division into ten sections. Each of these levels of the system is given a unique three digit number.

Moys Classification Scheme. The collection is classified according to the Moys classification scheme, 3rd. edition. The scheme was developed on the basis that legal materials may be divided most conveniently into primary materials (statute and case law) and secondary materials (treatises and periodicals). The central feature of the scheme is the treatment as a unit of those countries whose legal systems are based almost entirely on the English Common Law. Civil Law systems are treated as separate units.

National Library of Medicine (NLM) Classification Scheme. Since the NLM Classification covers the discipline of medicine and related sciences, we use some of the classification features.

General outline of classification scheme

Select one of the options below to go straight to a particular part of the scheme.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *